10 Elements

Learning Objectives

  • Understand the four Creative Commons license elements and their requirements


The four license elements combined differently on each license to clearly signal to users permissions authors have granted for reuse.

Element Description
Attribution or “BY”: All licenses have this element. It requires attributing the author of the original work and linking back to the original work.
Non-commercial: Not to be used for commercial purposes.  Three CC licenses have this attribute.
No Derivatives: No sharing of derivative works. Two of the CC Licenses have this element.
Share-Alike: Derivatives must have the same license. Two of the CC licenses have this element.


This chapter “Elements” is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License and is a derivative of the September 2020 Creative Commons Certificate Course by Creative Commons, also licensed CC BY 4.0. DeeAnn Ivie adapted content from the Creative Commons Certificate Course adding it to the “Elements” chapter in the OER Toolkit: For UTSA Faculty, Instructional Designers & Librarians.

Media Attributions

  • by.xlarge
  • nc.xlarge
  • nd.xlarge
  • sa.xlarge


Icon for the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License

OER Toolkit Copyright © 2023 by DeeAnn Ivie is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License, except where otherwise noted.

Share This Book